Starting July 10, 2019, Google Photos and Google Drive will no longer automatically sync. These changes will let you easily choose where photos and videos are stored across products.
- When you upload or delete photos in Google Drive or Google Photos, changes won’t reflect in the other service.
- On photos.google.com, you will be able to copy your photos and videos from Google Drive to Google Photos.
- Items copied between Google Drive and Google Photos in Original Quality will count towards your storage.
Your existing photos and videos are still in Google Photos and Google Drive.
Currently, G Suite users can choose to sync Photos to Drive. This means that when they upload a file to Photos, it’s automatically uploaded to the Google Photos folder in Drive. Once these changes go into effect, this folder will stop receiving updates. It won’t go away; it will just stop syncing with Photos.
Unlike consumers, G Suite users do not have the option to show photos from My Drive in Google Photos. If Google Photos is disabled in your organization, your users will not be impacted.